Human Resources

Contact Us

Physical Address
Access Center
1330 Truxtun Ave.
Bakersfield, CA 93301
661-636-4100

Mailing Address
1300 17th Street-City Centre
Bakersfield, CA 93301

The Kern County Superintendent of Schools Office recognizes that its employees are a valuable resource. There are great benefits to be realized from a workforce that is racially and culturally diversified; therefore, the Office operates on a merit system as part of its personnel management program. The merit system is designed to provide a fair and equitable personnel management program dedicated to the recruitment, retention, and development of employees on the basis of merit and job-related qualifications. It assures fair treatment of applicants and employees in all aspects of personnel administration without regard to race, national origin, religion, age, gender, disability, medical condition, martial status, or sexual orientation, and with proper regard for the privacy and constitutional rights of citizens.

The Office is education related; however, the services provided touch a far larger segment of the community. As a public agency it holds a public trust, so the Office strives to maintain a high standard of accountability. The Kern County Superintendent of Schools Office places a strong focus on customer service and sensitivity towards staff, clients, and the public.

HR Staff Directory

Toni Smith, Assistant Superintendent – Human Resources P: 661-636-4673
E: tosmith@kern.org
Natalie Martin Del Campo, Administrative Secretary II to Toni Smith P: 661-636-4673
E: namartindelcampo@kern.org
Cherie Payne, Director II Human Resources P: 661-636-4747
E: chpayne@kern.org
Michelle Phillips, Secretary II to Cherie Payne P: 661-636-4747
E: miphillips@kern.org
Byron Isaac, Director I Human Resources & Staff Development P: 661-636-4543
E: byisaac@kern.org
Matt Smith, Secretary II to Byron Isaac P: 661-636-4470
E: masmith@kern.org
Rosenda Thomas, Human Resources Manager P: 661-636-4683
E: rothomas@kern.org
Andrew Lane, Human Resources Systems Analyst P: 661-636-4251
E: anlane@kern.org
Michelle Rigby, Coordinator I – Human Resources and Staff Development P: 661-636-4692
E: mirigby@kern.org
Courtney Clerico, Human Resources Specialist
Workers’ Compensation
P: 661-636-4717
E: coclerico@kern.org
Gabriela Palafox Delgado, Fingerprint Technician
Fingerprint Appointments, Clearances, and Billing
P: 661-636-4672
E: gapalafoxdelgado@kern.org

CLASSIFIED

Karla Montano, Human Resources Technician III
Personnel (non-Credentialed)
P: 661-636-4342
E: kamontano@kern.org
Tammy Garcia, Human Resources Technician II
Job Announcements, Testing & Interviews
P: 661-636-4391
E: tagarcia@kern.org
Rodolfo Noriega, Human Resources Technician III
Personnel (non-Credentialed)
P: 661-636-4697
E: ronoriega@kern.org
Erika Salcedo, Human Resources Assistant
Switchboard Operator, Workers’ Compensation
P: 661-636-4782
E: ersalcedo@kern.org
Gloria Townsend, Human Resources Technician II
Timekeeping (Classified & Certificated)
A-Z
P: 661-636-4749
E: gltownsend@kern.org
Carolyn Hughes, Human Resources Technician I
Substitutes, Student Workers, and Professional Experts
P: 661-636-4633
E: cahughes@kern.org

CERTIFICATED

Laura Clifton, Human Resources Technician III
Personnel (Credentialed)
P: 661-636-4752
E: laclifton@kern.org
Evelyn Feliciano, Credential Supervisor P: 661-636-4750
E: evfeliciano@kern.org
Gloria Perez, Credential Technician P: 661-636-4370
E: glperez@kern.org
Carrie Melton, Credential Technician P: 661-636-4751
E: camelton@kern.org
Adrianna Pompa, Human Resources Assistant
Credentialing
P: 661-636-4197
E: adpompa@kern.org

PAYROLL

Vanessa Dhindsa, Employee Benefits Specialist P: 661-636-4612
E: vadhindsa@kern.org
Carie Pollick, Payroll Manager P: 661-636-4325
E: cacerda@kern.org
Robin Brown, Payroll Technician
A-F
P: 661-636-4663
E: robrown@kern.org
Pauline Terrell, Payroll Technician
G-M
P: 661-636-4661
E: paterrell@kern.org
Teresa Green, Payroll Technician
N-Z
P: 661-636-4667
E: tegreen@kern.org

TEACHER DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM

Tania Schalburg Dykes, Coordinator II Teacher Development Program P: 636-4367
E: taschalburg@kern.org
Anthony Goss, Program Specialist P: 636-4189
E: angoss@kern.org
Emily Walker, Project Facilitator P: 636-4666
E: emwalker@kern.org