KCSOS Mini Grants Awarded

KCSOS Mini Grants Awarded

  • December 7, 2022

Congratulations to the teachers from KCSOS’s Special Education and Alternative Education programs who received over $24,000 in mini grants from Dr. Mary Barlow to fund unique education projects for their classrooms.

A total of 24 projects were funded across various campuses in Kern County and spanned many different subjects. One project, led by John Merkle at Erwin Owen High School, will use the funds to purchase supplies for a seed germination greenhouse for his alternative education students.

Another project, titled “Woof! Yes Please” led by Penny Wheeler at Dai-Break, a school dedicated to assisting the adult autistic community, received funds to assist students in making and selling dog biscuits to KCSOS staff.

“These new experiences make it possible for them to expand skills and knowledge,” said Wheeler. “Plus, they have so much fun.”

The rest of the 2022 recipients are as follows:

Alternative Education

  • Carol Bennett, “Spartan Spotlight Winner Reward System”
  • Dora Garza, “Positive Reinforcement”
  • Sarah Harriger, “Building Positive Futures”
  • John Merkle, “Seed Germination Greenhouse Lesson Plans”
  • Cesar Orozco, “Mental Health Awareness Week – Tie Dye”
  • Steve Ost, “Recognition of Positive Behaviors in the Court Schools”
  • M. Deanna Salinas, “Student Store/ Positive Behavior Intervention & Supports Incentives”
  • Pennie Sanchez, “Positive Behavior Intervention & Supports (PBIS) Incentives/Rewards”
  • Tracy Sneed, “Screencastify for Teachers”
  • German Vindel, “3D Doodler Pens”
  • Ryan Watson, “MTSS Acknowledgement System in Court Schools”

Special Education

  • Cynamin Etchells, “Learning Center Extravaganza”
  • Karan Harrington, “Indoor/Outdoor Educational Fun”
  • Ivan Banuelos Hernandez, “Outdoor Social Interaction”
  • Cleo Jackson, “SPROUTS! Students Plant Real Garden Oasis Used to Teach STEM!”
  • Amanda Kissack, “Rio Bravo Greeley”
  • Mary Jo Limbengco, “Infant Development Parent Event: Making it a Fun Meet-Up Event”
  • Amy Moore, “Mixing It Up!”
  • Judy Rivas, “Sensory Learn Through Play Station”
  • Wendy Stowers, “Creation Station”
  • Nikki Stickland, “Let’s Play Ball!”
  • Tiffany Thorton, “Meet Them Where They Are At”
  • J. Trevino, C. Tobiasen, M. Sanchez, H. Haider, and J. Berg, “DEAFinitely Worth Reading”
  • Penny Wheeler, “Woof! Yes Please”


2022 Mini Grant Reception