We the People Congressional Hearings

Nearly 250 students from nine local high schools put their knowledge of the U.S. Constitution to the test over the weekend during the annual We the People Congressional Hearings held at Golden Valley High School. Centennial High School won the regional competition and will move on to represent Kern County in the state championships to be held on Feb. 5, 2022. Because both Arvin High School and West High School scored high enough, each has received wildcard invitations to the State Competition and will join Centennial to represent Kern County.

The competition, which was hosted by the Kern County Superintendent of Schools office, consisted of teams competing for a chance to win either the 21st or 23rd Congressional District title. Centennial, East, South, Liberty, Ridgeview, and West high schools made up the 23rd Congressional District, while those representing the 21st Congressional District were teams from Arvin, Golden Valley, and Mira Monte.

Each team individually presented testimony in two rounds of six mock congressional hearings. Congressional committees, consisting of community scholars and civic leaders, posed one of three study questions to the students prior to the competition. Each team was allowed four minutes to present testimony. Then, for an additional six minutes, teams answered questions posed by judges involving constitutional issues raised by events in history. The combined totals of all six team units determined the winner.

Arvin High School won the 21st Congressional District trophy and Centennial High School was victorious in the 23rd District. Centennial received the highest scoring overall and emerged as the regional champion.

21st Congressional District Results
1st — Arvin High School (received wildcard to State Competition)
2nd — Golden Valley High
3rd — Mira Monte High School

23rd Congressional District Results
1st — Centennial High School
2nd — West High School (received wildcard to State Competition)
3rd — Ridgeview High School

Overall Regional Winner — Centennial High School