California Distinguished Schools Honored

County Superintendent of Schools Dr. Mary Barlow recognized the leadership teams from eight local elementary schools on Feb. 5, 2020. It had been previously announced the schools were named as 2020 California Distinguished Schools by the California Department of Education (CDE). The program, sponsored by CDE and presented by California Casualty, recognizes outstanding education programs and practices. Schools are awarded for closing the achievement gap and for achieving exceptional student performance.

Principals from the schools presented best practices to their fellow educators for how they have been able to improve school climate and test scores in recent years.

The Kern County schools being honored are:
• Cesar E. Chavez Elementary School (Bakersfield City School District)
• Morningside Elementary School (Delano Union Elementary School District)
• Endeavour Elementary School (Fruitvale Elementary School District)
• Fairview and W A Kendrick elementary schools (Greenfield Union School District)
• Midway School (Midway School District)
• Buena Vista and Stockdale elementary schools (Panama-Buena Vista Union School District).

A total of 323 schools will receive the 2020 California Distinguished Schools Award.

“These outstanding schools don’t just educate students; they also provide the young people of California the tools they need to be successful after graduation,” State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Tony Thurmond, said. “Thanks go to all the staff at these schools—teachers, administrators, classified employees—and parents, who are working together to provide high-quality educational experiences for all of their students.”
California Distinguished Schools Program

A component of the California School Recognition Program, the Distinguished Schools Program recognizes schools based on performance and progress on the state indicators as specified on the California School Dashboard. Indicators include test scores, suspension rates, and conditions and climate. Elementary schools and middle and high schools are recognized in alternate years; therefore, awardees hold the title for two years.