## OFFICE OF JOHN G. MENDIBURU, Ed.D KERN COUNTY SUPERINTENDENT OF SCHOOLS - Advocates for Children Division of Instructional Services

## HENRY GREVE SPEECH CONTEST - 2023-24

7th and 8th Grades

In 1955, a speech contest for Kern County 7th and 8th graders was established. Originally this contest was held for students in schools having Junior Toastmasters or Gavel Clubs. Since these clubs in Kern County have declined, the Bakersfield Toastmasters Club has assumed sponsorship so that 7th and 8th grade students have an opportunity to participate in a speech event.

In 1963, this speech contest was named in memory of Henry Greve. A speech therapist in Kern County, Henry Greve was a member of Bakersfield Toastmasters Club #270; he made an outstanding contribution to boys and girls by supporting their participation in oral language activities.

Henry Greve regional finalists will participate in the county-level final on **THURSDAY**, **MARCH 21**, **2024**, <u>at 6:30 p.m.</u>, at the Kern County Superintendent of Schools Office, City Centre, 1300 17<sup>th</sup> Street, Bakersfield. The perpetual trophy will be presented to the winner, whose name will be engraved on the trophy, and the trophy will be on display at the winner's school for one year.

winner, whose name win be engraved on the trophy, and the trophy win be on display at the winner's school for one year.					
		The recipients of the tr			_
1955	Mae Addington	Rio Bravo	1990	Jeremy Adams	Emerson
1956	Mike Gunther	Fruitvale	1991	Gloria Jacquez	Sierra
1957	Larry Hallum	Haven Drive	1992	Amy Ramos	Sierra
1958	Anne Lundy	Norris	1993	Jessica Merritt	Fruitvale
1959	Charlotte McCain	Norris	1994	Don Kalar	Fruitvale
1960	Annette Smith	Wasco	1995	Jenny Elliott	Rosedale
1961	Tommy Nichols	Belridge	1996	Megan Jager	Fruitvale
1962	Milton Charlton	Wasco	1997	Daniel Ketchell	Fruitvale
1963	Natalie Blace	Pond	1998	Tiara Cox	Stiern
1964	Mike Walker	Beardsley	1999	Johnny Mendez, Jr.	Fairfax
1965	Robin LaMarca	Norris	2000	Kelsey Barney	Tevis
1966	Manuel Izquierdo	Rio Bravo-Greeley	2001	Julie Wright	Ollivier
1967	Ron Rawlinson	Tehachapi	2002	Liliana Pinault	Tevis
1968	Sandy Efseaff	Wasco	2003	Guy Rodgers	Warren
1969	Beth Ohanneson	Wasco	2004	Rebecca Struzyna	Fruitvale
1970	Candice Frost	St. John's	2005	Rebecca Stuzyna	Fruitvale
1971	Allison Little	Wasco	2006	Alicia Mathur	Warren
1972	Grover Waldon	Standard	2007	Alicia Mathur	Warren
1973	Kelly McCabe	Nobel	2008	Mardelano Booc	Almond Tree
1974	Joan Zimmerman	Thompson	2009	Katelyn Shipp	Norris
1975	Brian Pori	Chipman	2010	Laurel Cartwright	Norris
1976	Carin Nuckles	James Monroe	2011	Amrit Dhillon	Stonecreek
1977	Andrew Sway (Spring)	Emerson	2012	Stephen Bush	Downtown
1977	Brent Palmer (Winter)	Compton	2013	Stephen Bush	Chipman
1979	Leah Ceccarelli	Curran	2014	Paityn Boyt	Rio Bravo-Greeley
1980	Jon Bell	Murray	2015	Miller McCraw	, Earl Warren
1981	Lisa Olson	Greenacres	2016	Ethan Zetina	Almond Tree
1982	Tomasa Foust	Emerson	2017	Lauren Adams	Freedom
1983	Kathy Cowles	Emerson	2018	Emma Adams	Freedom
1984	Kathy Cowles	Emerson	2019	Jessika Hunter	Ollivier
1985	Heather Nunnely	Fruitvale	2020	COVID Cancelation	
1986	Nate Cooper	Washington	2021	Himmut "Mimi" Chatha	Rosedale Middle
1987	Ann Leathers	Fruitvale	2021	Elliora Ignacio	LaVina Middle
1988	George Daisa, Jr.	Fruitvale	2023	Azin Khajvand	Earl Warren
1989	Chris Fielder	Fruitvale	2020		

The guidelines for this contest are:

Material should be original.

1. Prepare a speech on the designated topic. 2. Appropriate speaking time is 4.5 - 7 minutes (not time).

If quotations are used, the source must be identified.
Participants who submitted an entry last year may re-submit their entry as the prompt will remain the same.

5. No props or costumes.

\* \* TOPIC FOR ALL 2023-2024 HENRY GREVE SPEECHES: \* \*

"How can one person make a difference?"