661.636.4000

Richardson Center

Kern County Superintendent of Schools

The C. W. Richardson Child Development Center is a Preschool operated by Kern County Superintendent of Schools in Bakersfield. The Center provides a variety of educational and support services for children from birth to five years of age. Direct services are provided to high-risk infants and toddlers, preschool-aged children with special needs, and full-day child development services for students from families that meet program eligibility requirements.

Since 1986, The Richardson Center has provided services to students with special needs from over 40 different school districts. The Center provides services to, over 200 children, on average. The majority of which receive special education services.

What I’m Learning Now

Amazing Bits Happen

Amazing Bits Happen

Dear Family and Friends of the Claude W. Richardson Child Development Center,

We had so much fun with our last learning theme “My Family and Friends”. I would like to take this opportunity to thank our community members for offering their time to share with the Richardson Rockets and allow them this occasion to explore the equipment, uniforms and vehicles. This hands-on opportunity is invaluable for young minds. I think our staff enjoyed this event as much as the students! The smiles were endless. I want to thank those who worked hard to make this event happen, especially Sargent Chris Johnson of the Bakersfield Police Department who contacted many of our community helpers, Ashley Brandon for her coordination of the event, and the Parent Advisory Committee for purchasing the pumpkins and refreshments for our guests. Thank you.

The playground renovation is well underway. Two new structures have been delivered. Every day we watch as the construction crew digs, pours, saws, drills and builds. We expect completion of Phase One of the project; The Universal Playground, Center Playground and the Sand Playground, in November. Look for information about our dedication ceremony in the near future.

Do you remember reading the story “Jack and the Bean Stalk”? I remember as a child wanting those magic beans. This classic is one of the stories we will be reading as part of our current curriculum theme, “Giants”. The “What I’m Learning Now” section will give you ideas on how you can extend this learning at home.
Finally, we have many fun events happening this month and next at the Richardson Center. We encourage all our parents to come and visit us and enjoy the fun of learning!

Sincerely,

Angie Bertran-Harris
Principal

The Desired Results access Project supports special educators, administrators, and families in implementing the California Department of Education’s Desired Results Assessment System(DRDP 2015) for:

  • All infants and toddlers with Individualized Family Service Plans (IFSPs) who are reported in the CASEMIS system; and
  • All preschool-age children (3 – 5 year olds not enrolled in transitional kindergarten or kindergarten) who have Individualized Education Programs (IEPs).

Desired Results Access Project


Frog Street Press may be used as a supplement to the Richardson Center Splash Into PreK curriculum. The site offers items to purchase, trainings,professional development resources and parent resources.
frogStreet


Splash Into PreK curriculum. This site gives access to review lesson Plan books for each theme. The site does require regestering:
Register Now Splash Unit Time Frame


Preschool Learning Foundations: The preschool learning foundations are a critical step in the California Department of Education’s efforts to strengthen preschool education and school readiness and to close the achievement gap in California.
Volume #1 Volume #2 Volume #3


Common Core: Educational standards describe what students should know and be able to do in each subject in each grade. In California, the State Board of Education decides on the standards for all students, from kindergarten through high school. The California Department of Education helps schools make sure that all students are meeting the standards.
Since 2010, a number of states across the nation have adopted the same standards for English and math. These standards are called the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Having the same standards helps all students get a good education, even if they change schools or move to a different state. Teachers, parents, and education experts designed the CCSS to prepare students for success in college and the workplace.
Math Language Arts

Teacher IA Room # Phone Number email
Arroyo E1 336-5451 ararroyo@kern.org
Barle 336-5460 subarle@kern.org
Brandon 336-5432 asbrandon@kern.org
Catron 336-5416 jacatron@kern.org
Cody 336-5421 vicody@kern.org
Cowen 336-5426 sucowen@kern.org
Estrada A1 336-5411 hiestrada@kern.org
Forzetting 336-5418 amforzetting@kern.org
Gaetz 336-5435 hegaetz@kern.org
Gonzalez 336-5436 sugonzalez@kern.org
Harwell 336-5424 meharwell@kern.org
Heisey 336-5442 keheisey@kern.org
Helton 336-5452 mohelton@kern.org
Matos-Brown 336-5441 mimatos-brown@kern.org
Mitchell 336-5445 vimitchell@kern.org
Moran 336-5446
NURSES G1
Debbie Alberstadt 336-5479 dealberstadt@kern.org
Susie Hallmark 336-5410 suhallmark@kern.org
Norma Urena 336-5454
Lilian Short 336-5454
Plante 336-5444 wecoble@kern.org
Pretzer 336-5425 gepretzer@kern.org
Prince C1 336-5431 deprince@kern.org
Rascoe 336-5457 jerascoe@kern.org
SPEECH
Cindy Adame G4 336-5459 cyadame@kern.org
Jill Hahs G4 336-5459 jihahs@kern.org
Becca Schlitz D3 336-5447 reschlitz@kern.org
Richard Tolentino D3 336-5443 ritolentino@kern.org
Thomas-Crompton A2 336-5412 cothomas-crompton@kern.org
Thornton 336-5434 tithornton@kern.org
Tolentino 336-5422 catollentino@kern.org
Whitlach 336-5417 elwhitlach@kern.org
Wolosz 336-5415 rowolosz@kern.org

a. Photos and summary of special activities
b. Update as activities occur

School Calendar

Upcoming Events

Claude W. Richardson Child Development Center PAC

a. Activities sponsored by PAC
b. PAC contacts
c. Upcoming agenda
d. Past agenda

back to top